Penn State University

News & Announcements

Position Open for Faculty/Education Developer at the Schreyer Institute!

A position has opened at the Schreyer Institute for an experienced Faculty/Educational Developer with expertise in teaching for equity and inclusion. Join our team of dedicated Instructional Consultants in advancing and inspiring excellence in Penn State’s teaching and learning community. This is a full-time, non-tenure, in-person position with flexibility to work remotely at times. 

To learn more, view the position at:

Teaching Excellence at PSU: Five Penn State Faculty Granted Prestigious Professorship

The Schreyer Institute for Teaching Excellence would like to congratulate five Penn State faculty members for earning the prestigious title of Evan Pugh University Professor through excellent teaching.

The five honored professors are:

  • Réka Albert, distinguished professor of physics and biology, Eberly College of Science
  • Suresh Canagarajah, Edwin Erle Sparks Professor of Applied Linguistics, English, and Asian Studies, College of the Liberal Arts
  • Vijaykrishnan Narayanan, A. Robert Noll Chair Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, College of Engineering; distinguished professor of engineering and associate dean for innovation in the College of Engineering.
  • Clive Randall, distinguished professor of materials science and engineering, College of Earth and Mineral Sciences
  • S. Shyam Sundar, James P. Jimirro Professor of Media Studies, Donald P. Bellisario College of Communications

Read more about the Professorship in Penn State's article.

It is the mission of the Schreyer Institute to advance and inspire excellence in Penn State’s teaching and learning community. Learn more about how the Schreyer Institute inspires excellence on our Vision and Mission page.

Congratulating 2024's PSU Faculty and Staff Award Winners

Each spring, Penn State recognizes outstanding faculty and staff with annual awards in teaching and excellence. These awards highlight many of the University's faculty and staff who go above and beyond in their work at Penn State.?

The Schreyer Institute offers resources and information specifically for the George W. Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching, Eisenhower Award for Distinguished Teaching, and the Teaching Fellow: Penn State Alumni Association Award for Excellence in Teaching.

The winners for those awards respectively are as follows:

George W. Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching

  • Sommar A. Chilton, associate teaching professor in the College of Health and Human Development
  • Linda Instanbulli, Caroline D. Eckhardt Early Career Professor of Comparative Literature and assistant professor of comparative literature and Arabic in the College of the Liberal Arts
  • Siu Ling “Pansy” Leung, associate teaching professor in the College of Engineering
  • Kuei-Nuan Lin, associate professor of mathematics at Penn State Greater Allegheny
  • Sarah E. Nilson, assistant professor of biology at Penn State Beaver
  • Kara Stone, assistant teaching professor of English at Penn State Scranton

Eisenhower Award for Distinguished Teaching

  • Lolita Paff, associate professor of business and economics at Penn State Berks
  • Scott Showalter, professor of chemistry and of biochemistry and molecular biology in the Eberly College of Science

Teaching Fellow: Penn State Alumni Association Award for Excellence in Teaching

  • Juan Gil, professor of mathematics at Penn State Altoona
  • Sonia Molloy, associate professor of human development and family studies at Penn State York
  • Jacqueline O’Connor, professor of mechanical engineering in the College of Engineering

To see the complete list of awards and their respective winners, visit PSU’s Penn State announces 2024 University-wide faculty and staff awards news article. To learn more about the faculty awards provided through the Schreyer Institute, visit our Teaching Awards page.

Nominate an Excellent Teacher

Nominations for the Milton S. Eisenhower Award for Distinguished Teaching and the George W. Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching awards are accepted all year round. Students and educators from any Penn State campus can nominate Penn State faculty for a University Undergraduate Teaching Award.

Find the nomination form and award criteria on our Penn State Undergraduate Teaching Awards page. Submissions before June 30, 2024, will be considered for the 2025 awards.

New CIRTL Teaching Certificate Program for Graduate Students at Penn State

The Graduate school at Penn State and the Schreyer Institute have partnered to provide graduate students and post docs with a teaching certificate opportunity that builds on the Grad school’s previous teaching certificate program. The new program incorporates framework developed by the Center for Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning (CIRTL), a network of 45 universities around the United States and Canada dedicated to advancing effective teaching practices for diverse learners through professional development for future faculty.

Penn State's CIRTL Program is uniquely designed to allow graduate students to meet certificate objectives in the way that best suits their teaching goals. Certification can be achieved by participating in activities offered by the CIRTL Network, a Penn State department or college, the Schreyer Institute for Teaching Excellence, or programs from other Penn State units focused on teaching.

This certificate program replaces the previous Graduate School teaching certificate. Graduate students that have already started the previous certificate program will be allowed to complete it.

For more information on the CIRTL Certificate Program, visit PSU’s Graduate School website or email

Additionally, the CIRTL network continuously offers professional development events for grad students and postdocs. You can find details about upcoming events at:

Workshops & Seminars

Upcoming Events

6/18/2024, 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
6/27/2024, 12:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.

More Events

Penn State University