Penn State University

News and Announcements

Where to Begin? Developing an Action Plan for Aligned and Inclusive Lessons

CIRTL logo

Open to all Penn State graduate students and faculty.

Offered by CIRTL Network Members: University of British Columbia & Dalhousie University

Where does one begin when planning a lesson? What do we want students to walk away with and how do we ensure that our teaching is inclusive and equitable? Join us in this interactive, two-session workshop where we first discuss the foundation to strong lesson planning. Afterwards we explore how the lesson will be received by students paying particular attention to inclusivity and alignment. This workshop is for everyone - whether it is your first time teaching an undergraduate class or an expert.

You will need to create a CIRTL Network account using your Penn State email address to register and attend.

Wednesday, July 20 at 2-4PM AT / 1-3PM ET / 12-2PM CT / 11AM-1PM MT / 10AM-12PM PT

Wednesday, July 27 at 2-3PM AT / 1-2PM ET / 12-1PM CT / 11AM-12PM MT / 10-11AM PT.

Participation in the first session is required to join the second.

CARE for Inclusion and Equity in Learning Environments

CIRTL logo

Open to all Penn State graduate students, postdocs, and faculty.

Thursday, June 16 2022 4:00pm ADT / 3:00pm EDT / 2:00pm CDT / 1:00pm MDT / 12:00pm PDT

Educational research shows that creating inclusive and equitable learning environments promotes learning for all students, especially for those from backgrounds historically underrepresented in higher education. Online pedagogy - widely predicted to remain a greater presence post-pandemic - introduces additional dimensions to address, such as differential access to learning technologies and support systems. In this workshop, we introduce a framework - CARE - that organizes evidence-based strategies for promoting inclusion and equity in both in-person and online/remote learning.

You will need to create a CIRTL Account using your Penn State email address to register and participate.

Job Opening: Graduate Assistantship in Instructional Consultation

Are you a graduate student with college teaching experience and an interest in helping others improve their teaching? Do you enjoy working in a fast-paced, collaborative, and supportive environment? The Schreyer Institute for Teaching Excellence (SITE) is seeking an instructional consultation graduate assistant (from any disciplinary background) for Fall 2022-Spring 2023. This is a half-time assistantship (20 hours per week).

Requirements

  • Status as a doctoral student who has completed all coursework and will have passed all aspects of the comprehensive exams before May 1, 2022.
  • One or more semesters of instructional experience (in any discipline) in which you were responsible for creating class sessions (e.g., as autonomous instructor or as TA for a recitation or lab section); designing learning activities; and providing substantive feedback on student work.
  • Interest in helping faculty and graduate students learn more about teaching.

Learn more and apply at Penn State's careers site. Search for REQ_0000025968.

Direct questions to Chas Brua.

Penn State University