Penn State Teaching Awards

Penn State recognizes the highest levels of academic excellence, outstanding leadership, and meritorious service. The individuals honored are a highly select group who warrant not only our warmest congratulations, but also our admiration and appreciation of their noteworthy accomplishments.

Additional information about The Milton S. Eisenhower Award for Distinguished Teaching award, The George W. Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching award, and The Penn State Teaching Fellow: The Penn State Alumni Association Award for Excellence in Teaching and other University awards is available on Penn State's Awards Recognition page.


If you would like to nominate someone for a teaching award, please complete the Teaching Awards Nomination Form. Nominations are accepted year-round; however, those received after June 30 will be considered for the following year.

Candidate Selection Process

A brief explanation of the process is listed below. Full details, including the specific dates, are available at Atherton, Eisenhower, and Alumni Teaching Awards Timetable for Selection.

Teaching Award Recipients